Recipe! Sticky Dates Brownies

My dear readers, I have been recently motivated by 2 great friends (Paty and Chirstele) to start posting some of my brilliant recipes (oh yes the humbleness!).

I must say, I am very pro using less butter/unhealthy ingredients when making things at home. But I will use them in minimal quantities when the recipe does not work without them.

I do not enjoy a modified dessert that tastes like a diet dessert.

In the end, it has to taste good! My usual judge to the success or failure of a recipe are my nieces and nephews, so I’ll also provide their opinions 🙂 Seeing that these recipes are made using the best ingredients (items available at our homes) I think that sort-of makes it up since there are no trans fats, additives and/or colorants.

Just old fashioned REAL FOOD! Can’t ask for better than that.

I have a lovely and deadly sweet tooth. My easiest fix is fruits (ok! the occasional chocolate as well!) but mainly dates which inspired a date cake. I made this as a cake but I would strongly recommend them as brownies because they are so fudgy! They would especially work for someone with children when having friends over.

dates

Sticky Date Cake/Brownies
Ingredients:
420 grams dates (deseeded)
1 tsp baking soda
60 grams butter
75 grams oil
1/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/4 cup flour
1 1/3 tbsp baking powder1 cup chopped walnuts
 Method:

1- Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C. I use tahinie (ground sesame seeds) to coat my cake pan. Then I spray flour over it.

2- Place the dates in large saucepan with 3 1/2 cups cold water. Bring to boil, stirring a little to break up the dates. Some of the date skins will float to the top, it is better to remove them.

Leave to simmer for 1 minute before removing from the heat. Stir in the baking soda (which will cause the mixture to bubble up).

3- Cream the butter, oil and sugar together in a food mixer until pale and creamy. Add the eggs, one at a time, occasionally scraping down mixing bowl. Add the vanilla extract and then the flour and salt and mix briefly to give a lumpy dough.

4- Next, add the warm date mixture in two batches. Scrape down the sides of bowl in between mixing. The original recipe said to add all the date water as well, but I only added about 2 1/2 cups.  Finally add the baking powder (this will bubble up also).

5- Add the walnuts, mix, then pour the batter evenly into the pans. Bake for about 30 to 40 minutes. Test if they are cooked with a small knife or toothpick, it should come out clean when cakes are done.

 Makes 12 small cake pieces. Each piece has 250 kcal of which 26 g sugar, 3.2 g protein and 3.2 grams fiber. I realize it has a lot of calories which come from sugars, but it most of it is from the dates which also contain fiber.

Original recipe at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sticky-toffee-date-cake-recipe/index.html?oc=linkback

The verdict from my nephew who does not like/eat dates: He loved it and immediately asked for another piece! SUCCESS 😀

I was so excited to try it I forgot to take a picture before cutting! Oh the sweet stickyness!

I was so excited to try it I forgot to take a picture before cutting! Oh the sweet sticky-ness!

4 thoughts on “Recipe! Sticky Dates Brownies

  1. I’m super glad you shared it! And I know you have gazillion good recipes to come! I remember your granola bar was exquisite hehehe! Will let you knwo when I try it akid

Leave a Reply

