Recipe: Heathy Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice cream

Hello lovely friends!

Today I have a super uber treat for all you ice cream-holics. I thank my dear friend and fellow blogger Patricia for the recipe. She made chocolate, strawberry and cashew ice cream. You can find her recipes here. I absolutely love bananas with peanut butter so I decided to whisk it up (with of course) some chocolate! Wow the flavors knock me out.

So this is a healthy chocolate peanut butter ice cream recipe with absolutely no added sugar! When I was eating it I seriously couldn’t believe it had no added sugar and I made it myself 😀 Now that’s what I call a super duper must share recipe!

Chocolate peanut butter ice cream recipe:

Ingredients (for 2 portions, or 1 person who loves his/her ice cream! But I made this for 2 and it was fantastic):

2 ripe bananas

2 tbsp low fat milk

1 1/2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tbsp of natural no sugar added peanut butter + 1 tsp of natural no sugar added peanut butter for garnish

1/4 tsp of vanilla extract

Method:

1- Cut the bananas into slices, cover and place in the freezer for about 5 hours

Banana's before going into the freezer

Banana’s before going into the freezer

2- After the patient wait, place the bananas in the blender with the cocoa powder, vanilla extract and 1 tbsp peanut butter.

3- Pulse the mixture for a while then add 2 tsp of milk. Alternate between pulsing the mixture and adding the milk to keep the mixture going. You will have to open the blender and scrap down and mix the mixture around 5 times to get it all well blended.

If you like it cold, you can add some ice cubes to the mixture (not for eating!)  just to keep the temperature low. I did do this but trust me there was no time for it to melt!

THAT IS IT.

Pour it into lovely ice cream bowls. Garnish with the remaining peanut butter.

The final yummyness

The final creamy, sweet yummyness

I haven’t made it for my nieces and nephews (I was so excited I had to post the recipe asap) yet I am certain it will be a smashing hit! I’d recommend this for all children and adults (with no nut allergies).

Nutrition facts (when the recipe is made for 2 so ~150 grams per person): 197 calories, 16 grams of sugar, 5 grams of fiber, 5 grams of protein

A great summer treat indeed. Bon appetit!

One thought on “Recipe: Heathy Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice cream

Leave a Reply

